Share this page

Who We Are

The Board of Trustees of the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust

The Trustees were first incorporated by an Act of Parliament in 1891, and now carry out their responsibilities under the terms of the Shakespeare Birthplace Act, 1961 [PDF] and The Charities (Shakespeare Birthplace Trust) Order 2017 [PDF]. The Shakespeare Birthplace Trust is a registered charity, no: 209302.

The objectives of the Trust, as defined by its Act are:

  • To promote in every part of the world the appreciation and study of the plays and other works of William Shakespeare and the general advancement of Shakespearian knowledge
  • To maintain and preserve the Shakespeare properties for the benefit of the nation
  • To provide and maintain for the benefit of the nation a museum and a library of books, manuscripts, records of historic interest, pictures, photographs and objects of antiquity with particular but not exclusive reference to William Shakespeare, his life, works and times

Board of Trustees

The Trust’s governing body can comprise of up to 12 non salaried Trustees.  

Lady Cobham (Chairman)

Professor Lena Cowen Orlin (Vice Chair)
Nick Abell (Vice Chair)
Ralph Bernard
Rebecca Dobbs
Professor Michael Dobson
Kathy Gee
Mike Huggins
Ayub Khan
AJ Leon

The SBT Council

The 2017 charities order provides for the SBT to establish a consultative Council.

Other staff and spokespeople

Meet our Spokespeople

See what makes us tick

Watch our Video

Your support funds vital work

Find out how
Where Shakespeare's story started Relive Shakespeare's love story Walk in Shakespeare's footsteps