Mary Arden’s Farm – 500 years, 1514 – 2014
Here is Sharon Lippett, our head Tudor, talking about our 500 Year Celebration Panel .
This year sees the 500th anniversary of the building of Mary Arden’s Farm. Mary Arden was William Shakespeare’s mother and was the youngest of eight daughters. She married John Shakespeare and their son William Shakespeare was born in 1564. Mary died in 1608 and was buried in an unknown location in the Trinity Churchyard.
To celebrate the 500 year milestone we are holding an exhibition in the farm, which is a celebration of Wilmcote (where the farm is situated), its community, and history. The exhibition will bring together the myriad strands of the community, uniting to create our own modern 'Bayeaux' tapestry. There will be five panels created by five local community groups in different media such as textiles, paintings, and photography, to depict each century. The first panel shows the building of the farm and is being created by our own Tudor period interpreters.
The exhibition will be open daily from 17th March - 2nd November and is included in the entrance price.