Share this page

Shakespeare Birthplace Trust appoint two new Trustees to its Board

Ayub Khan MBE and Professor Michael Dobson bring diverse new skills, experiences and fresh perspective to the Trust

Two new Trustees
Ayub Khan MBE and Professor Michael Dobson

The Shakespeare Birthplace Trust, the independent charity in Stratford-upon-Avon which cares for the world’s greatest Shakespeare heritage, is delighted to announce the appointment of two new members to its Board of Trustees – Ayub Khan and Professor Michael Dobson.

Ayub Khan MBE is Head of Universal Services for Warwickshire County Council, which include libraries, museums, heritage and archives. He started his career in education and children’s services and went on to work on the early concepts and designs for the new Library of Birmingham, which houses a major Shakespeare collection. He is a former member of the UK UNESCO Culture Committee and was recently appointed to the Cultural Leadership Board of the West Midlands Combined Authority. Ayub’s interests extend to international co-operation with a strong focus on diversity and inclusion, particularly as a former refugee. He is also Vice-Chair of the Midlands Area Council for Arts Council England.

Professor Michael Dobson is Director of the Shakespeare Institute, University of Birmingham. Michael’s professional career has been dedicated to studying and teaching the works of Shakespeare, and he has taught at universities around the world including Oxford, Harvard, the University of London and the University of Illinois at Chicago. He is co-director of the Shakespeare Centre, China, in Nanjing, and holds honorary degrees from Lund University in Sweden and Craiova University in Romania, as well as the Craiova Shakespeare Festival International Shakespeare Prize. Michael is also an Honorary Governor of the Royal Shakespeare Company and Trustee of Flute Theatre.

Ayub Khan and Michael Dobson are former members of the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust consultative Council. Established in 2017 following a governance review, the Council’s objectives include complementing and supporting the work of the Board of Trustees. It also provides opportunities for succession planning and the appointment of future Trustees.

Peter Kyle OBE, Chairman of the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust, said, “Ayub and Michael have ideal skills sets and highly appropriate experience to augment our Board of Trustees; supporting us in advancing the Trust’s mission to the share Shakespeare’s work, life and times with global audiences. We are delighted to welcome them to work with us, assisting in setting our vision and guiding ambitious plans as we navigate through this crucial time.”

The Trust’s governing body is chaired by Peter Kyle and is made up of up to 12 non-salaried Trustees. Ayub and Michael will work alongside existing Board members, including: Nick Abell, Ralph Bernard, Lady Penelope Cobham, Rebecca Dobbs, Kathy Gee, Mike Huggins, AJ Leon, Lena Cowen Orlin and John Russell (Vice Chair).

For more information, see